The Curse of Being an Engineer: The Making of the Beijing Olympic Stadium

Événement passé

The structural form of the Beijing Olympic Stadium roof is described as a  »nest ». The interwoven structural elements of the facade produce a single surface, upon which further elements are arranged in a chaotic manner to blur the distinction between the primary structure and the secondary structure.

The roof is saddle-shaped, and the geometry is developed from a base ellipse. The outer surface of the facade is inclined at approximately 13° to the vertical. The very irregular nature of the structure meant looking for new methods of designing structural steel sections in order to minimize the weight.The steel roof, a single 330m long by 220m wide structure, weighs 45 000 tonnes.

Steve will explain the thinking behind the design of the Beijing Olympic Stadium and how the project was delivered.  The focus will be on people and their part in the process.

Cette conférence est organisée conjointement avec nos partenaires pour la soirée.

Les Ingénieurs en structure de Montréal souhaite la bienvenue à tous. L’entrée est libre. Si vous désirez recevoir un avis électronique des prochaines réunions, envoyez un courriel à Sylvie Boulanger.

Cette conférence se tiendra en anglais.

Conférencier pour cet événement

Stephen J. Burrows
Stephen J. Burrows PrincipalArup (San Francisco)

Stephen J. Burrows is joint leader of Arup San Francisco Buildings Business and he also leads major multidisciplinary projects around the world. He is the Global Leader of ArupSport in Europe and speaks regularly at conferences about the business of sport. He has a particular interest in multi-functional facilities. He has over 26 years of experience and has been involved in a wide range of projects from sport, leisure and arts facilities, mixed office, retail and leisure developments, hotels, airports and light industrial parks. He also has extensive experience of structural assessments of bomb damaged buildings following the bomb blast in Manchester in 1996 and in Kenya in 1998.

Awards include the Brunel Medal, the Norwest Holst Prize for Civil Engineering and the Institution of Civil Engineers Prize.